Home / News / CMS, Nabarro and Olswang confirm Practice and Sector...

CMS, Nabarro and Olswang confirm Practice and Sector Group heads

13 December 2016

CMS UK, Nabarro and Olswang are pleased to announce the Practice and Sector Group heads who will be leading the new firm from 1 May 2017.

Penelope Warne, The Senior Partner of CMS UK comments: “We are delighted to confirm our new leadership positions which reflect the combined strength of our three firms. We believe the distinction of world-class sector expertise and outstanding global reach, underpinned by a supportive culture and quality people will be key to enhancing the way we deliver services to clients.”

Stephen Millar, Managing Partner of CMS UK comments: “We have chosen the very best in class leaders. This is a leadership team representative from all three firms, with positions agreed and put in place before the vote. Together we will be better positioned to meet our clients’ rapidly changing needs in the UK and internationally.”

Andrew Inkester, Managing Partner of Nabarro comments: “Agreeing the right mix of practice and sector heads up front has been vital. It brings certainty and stability which allows us to work together now to make sure our combination benefits clients when it goes live next year. This leadership team has a proven track record of advising on some of the most ground-breaking transactions and disputes of recent years. Together we aim to create more of those opportunities.”

Olswang Chief Executive Officer Paul Stevens comments: "Our combination with CMS and Nabarro is about providing the best possible expertise and experience for our clients, and these leadership appointments reflect that philosophy. They also acknowledge the respective strengths of each firm. Together we will provide robust depth across all of these areas and be much greater than the sum of our parts."

The leadership of the Practice and Sector Groups, which was agreed pre vote in September, is as follows:

Practice Group Roles

Practice Group

Practice Group Leader(s) - UK

Team Leaders - UK

Banking & Finance

Rita Lowe

Infrastructure and Project Finance – Andrew Ivison
Asset Finance – Tim Elliott
Real Estate Finance – Simon Johnston & Clive Swillman
Banking – Rita Lowe
Banking Litigation – Duncan Aldred & Philip Woodfield


Iain Stansfield

Competition – Cyrus Mehta
Commercial – John Armstrong (Technology) & Victoria Gaskell (Media)


Charles Currier
Iain Newman

Funds and Indirect Real Assets – Amanda Howard
Tax –  Aaron Fairhurst & Stephen Hignett


Guy Pendell

This is a matrix practice group which will include all contentious lawyers regardless of practice group

Energy, Projects and Construction

Bob Palmer

Projects – Paul Smith & James Snape
Energy – Robert Lane
Construction – Victoria Peckett & David Parton
 EPC Disputes – Adrian Bell & Steven Williams

Litigation, Arbitration, Contentious IP, Insurance and Employment

Jonathan Warne
Catherine Taylor

IP – Joel Barry
 Insurance and Reinsurance – Ed Foss
Employment – Catherine Taylor
Litigation & Arbitration – Jonathan Warne

Pensions, Financial Services & Products

Simon Pilcher

Financial Services and Products – Paul Edmondson
Pensions – Simon Pilcher

Real Estate

John Cumpson
Mark Heighton

DisputesDanielle Drummond-Brassington
 Planning – Martin Evans

Sector Group Roles


Sector Group Leaders - UK

Consumer Products

Tom Scourfield


Penelope Warne

Financial Services

Simon Morris

Hotels & Leisure

Thomas Page

Infrastructure & Project Finance

Paul Smith
Kristy Duane

Lifesciences & Healthcare

Sarah Hanson
Robert Stephen
Warren Taylor

Real Estate

Ciaran Carvalho

Technology, Media & Telecommunications

Clive Gringras