Home / News / CMS advised Stabilus on the acquisition of ACE, Hahn...

CMS advised Stabilus on the acquisition of ACE, Hahn Gasfedern and Fabreeka/Tech Products, part of the Swedish SKF-Group

An international CMS team headed by Dr Wolfgang Richter and Dr Hendrik Hirsch, co-head of CMS's excellence cluster M&A – industry, advised Stabilus on all legal aspects of the transaction. For US legal issues, CMS was supported by a team from Nixon Peabody. The acquisition is still subject to approval by antitrust authorities. The volume of the planned transaction amounts to USD 339m.

ACE-Group, Hahn Gasfedern and the Fabreeka/Tech Products-Group are established industrial suppliers in the fields of motion control, dampening and vibration control for a broad spectrum of clients and industry segments. With their comprehensive range of gas springs, dampers and products for vibration reduction, locations in Europe, the USA and Asia and a total of 550 employees, ACE, Hahn Gasfedern and Fabreeka/Tech Products are among the world’s leading industrial suppliers in their respective fields. In 2015, they generated a consolidated revenue of around USD 120m. The product range of the acquired companies is complementary to Stabilus. In line with its business strategy, Stabilus is thereby strengthening its industrial business by adding new groups of products and customers. Stabilus aims to offer its customers comprehensive solutions in all areas of motion control.

As a globally active automotive and industrial supplier, Stabilus develops and produces electromechanical drives as well as gas springs and hydraulic dampers. Employing approximately 4,400 people worldwide, the company has its operational headquarters in Koblenz, Germany. In the fiscal year 2015, Stabilus generated revenues of around EUR 611m. Stabilus has been listed in the Prime Standard segment of the Frankfurt Stock Exchange since May 2014 and was taken up in the SDAX index in September 2014.

CMS offices involved were CMS Germany (Dr Wolfgang Richter, Dr Hendrik Hirsch, Kai Neuhaus, Dr Holger Pattberg, Dr Tobias Kilian, Philipp-Christian Scheel, David Ziegelmayer, Dr Alexander Stief, Dr Tobias Polloczek, Laura Oprée, Tobias Rüb, Tobias Bock), CMS China (Dr Ulrike Glück, Jie Lin) and CMS UK (Stuart MacLean, Katrina Morrison). 

Related people

Hendrik Hirsch
Dr. Hendrik Hirsch
Wolfgang Richter
Dr. Wolfgang Richter, M.P.A./Harvard Univ.